There is a second reason Dietrich Bonhoeffer meditated on the Word of God. Notice in his statement below how he connects meditation with prayer. He wrote…

Because I am a preacher of the Word. I cannot expound the Scripture for others if i do not let it speak daily to me. I will misuse the Word in my office as preacher if I do not continue to meditate upon it in prayer.

If the Word has become empty for me in my daily administrations, if I no longer experience it, that proved I have not let the Word speak personally to me for a long time. I will offend against my calling if I do not seek each day in prayer the word that my Lord wants me to say for that day. Ministers of the Word are especially called upon to perform the office of prayer: “But we will devote oursleves to prayer and the ministry of the word” (Acts 6:4). The Pastor must pray than others, and has more to pray about (Dietrich Bonhoeffer, Meditating on the Word, 31).

These words speak to all Christians, but especially to preachers.

