Tomorrow at 12:30 pm, I will be having surgery on my knee. Last week, I tore cartilage in my right knee as I ran from third base to home in the over-50 softball league I play in (I will be 55-years-old in July). The MRI and X-rays revealed that there was damage in the cartilage in two different places in my right knee.

There is always (I believe) a certain amount of nervousness before surgeries. I also know that my knee surgery is minor compared to the major surgeries that many people face every day. Yet, I know I must keep my mind on the Lord and things above.

I also thought of Dietrich Bonhoeffer who spent his last night on earth knowing he was going to the gallows the next day.

And, of course, the Lord Jesus prayed in the garden the night before he was crucified on the cross for our sins.

 

