No I Has Heard

Dietrich Bonhoeffer, 1939 Dietrich Bonhoeffer, 1939

Listening to voices from the church’s past is always a delicate balancing act.  On the one hand, we always have so much to learn from the experience of the saints who have traveled the road on which we now make our way, resting from their labors in peace.  On the other hand, their times and thus their concerns, their points of view, their assumptions, their languages are not our own.  We should always be careful when we venture through time; we can very easily, without knowing we’ve done so, changed the very nature of the past by appropriating for the present something that was not meant for us.

Nevertheless, I had been thinking over the previous few weeks of the sermons and speeches of Dietrich Bonhoeffer.  Last week, in the midst of helping my wife move her office, I rescued from exile my copy of A Testament…

View original post 808 more words

