What would it be like?

November 25, 2014

everett

I condemn looting and burning.  But many people not looting and burning are in anguish today.  And I want to say something to those who don’t understand that anguish.

Some years ago I went through the experience of being falsely accused in a significant way.  In that setting there arose around me an aura of suspicion, a guilty-until-proven-innocent bias, an environment in which even my reasonable self-defense was construed as self-righteous denial and therefore further evidence against me, a Kafka-esque hell of fingers pointed in a frenzy of merciless judgments, and facts didn’t matter, truth didn’t matter, the Bible didn’t matter.  The only thing that would suffice and satisfy was my execution.

One of the many benefits of that experience was the moment when this thought occurred to me: “Oh, so this is what it’s like to get lynched.”

But what would it be like to live my whole lifetime in that environment?

For the rest of the post…

